

EMPOWERED TO INFLUENCE AND INSPIRE!

18 Fricker Road, Illovo, Sandton 2196 P.O. Box 32035, Braamfontein 2017 Telephone: 011 381 8900 Website: www.inseta.org.za

MEMORANDUM

то	STAKEHOLDERS, INSETA ACCREDITED SKILS DEVELOPMENT PROVIDERS, INSETA REGISTERED
	ASSESSORS, MODERATORS, INSURANCE SECTOR EMPLOYERS AND REGISTERED LEARNERS
FROM	QUALITY ASSURANCE MANAGER, INSETA
DATE	10 JANUARY 2024

Dear Stakeholder,

DE-ACCREDITATION OF THE GRADUATE INSTITUTE OF FINANCIAL SCIENCES (GIFS) AS AN INSETA SKILLS DEVELOPMENT PROVIDER (SDP) WITH ACCREDITATION NUMBER A585000104 /130149

This memorandum serves to advise the sector regarding the **DE-ACCREDITATION OF GRADUATE INSTITUTE OF FINANCIAL SCIENCES** known as "GIFS" and the process going forward therof.

Through this memo, the **INSURANCE SECTOR EDUCATION AND TRAINING AUTHORITY (INSETA)** seeks to allay stakeholders uncertaininty regarding GIFS de-accreditation status.

GIFs is deemed deaccredited and may therefore, not trade as an accredited skills development provider. This status will be reported to the relevant authorities as applicable. Notice of deaccreditation has been published on the INSETA website at www.inseta.org.za

The INSETA is committed to ensuring that the deaccreditation process does not jeopardize learning negatively and a remedial strategy aimed at managing this process has been adopted.

The following remedies will be implemented to ensure learner qualification and or learning programme completion;

- GIFS is not permitted to enroll and register new learners after the issued de-accreditation letter dated 14th December 2023.
- The INSETA will permit GIFs to fomally close off all existing learner registrations captured on the INSETA MIS prior to the 14th December 2023. Closure processes refer to and includes:
 - 2.1. The conducting of external moderation/verification of learner achievements.
 - 2.2. GIFs interface with the INSETA to allow for the quality assurance of learner achievements.
 - 2.3. The collection and processing of personal information by GIFs required for INSETA compliance reporting or certification.

Board Members: Mr. J.S. Ngubane (Chairperson), Ms. V. Pearson (Organised Employer), Ms. L. van der Merwe (Organised Employer), Ms. R.G. Govender (Organised Employer), Ms. P. Mendes (Organised Employer), Ms. Z. Motsa (Organised Employer),
Mr. K.A.A. Sungay (Organised Employer), Mr. M. Soobramoney (Organised Labour), Mr. J.J.M. Mabena (Organised Labour), Ms. S.A. Anders (Organised Labour), Mr. C.B. Botha (Organised Labour), Ms. S.T. Dinyake (Organised Labour), Ms. N.B. Jonas (Organised Labour),
Ms. F. Mabaso (Professional Bodies), Mr. S.M. Mpuru (Professional Bodies)



EMPOWERED TO INFLUENCE AND INSPIRE!

18 Fricker Road, Illovo, Sandton 2196 P.O. Box 32035, Braamfontein 2017 Telephone: 011 381 8900 Website: www.inseta.org.za

- 2.4. INSETA certification of all learner achievements due to GIFs (Skills Programmes, Learnerships, Qualifications).
- 3. The above may entail GIFs interface with INSETA registered assessors, moderators, learners and INSETA levy paying employers which should not raise alarm.
- 4. The accreditation letter dated **30 June 2024**, issued to GIFs is revoked and the use of this document is prohibited.
- 5. The INSETA shall not recognize or be liable for any costs incurred following business concluded by an entity or individual after the deaccreditation date of 14th December 2023.
- 6. All enquires must be addressed to the ETQA Manager Mr Sibusiso Zulu at <u>sibusisoz@inseta.org.za</u>

We thank our stakeholders for their contribution to skills development initiatives aimed at uplifting the Insurance and related financial services sector.

Yours in Skills Development,

Sibusiso Zulu (Mr) Quality Assurance Manager : **INSETA**

Board Members: Mr. J.S. Ngubane (Chairperson), Ms. V. Pearson (Organised Employer), Ms. L. van der Merwe (Organised Employer), Ms. R.G. Govender (Organised Employer), Ms. P. Mendes (Organised Employer), Ms. Z. Motsa (Organised Employer),
Mr. K.A.A. Sungay (Organised Employer), Mr. M. Soobramoney (Organised Labour), Mr. J.I.M. Mabena (Organised Labour), Ms. S.A. Anders (Organised Labour), Mr. C.B. Botha (Organised Labour), Ms. S.T. Dinyake (Organised Labour), Ms. N.B. Jonas (Organised Labour),
Ms. F. Mabaso (Professional Bodies), Mr. S.M. Mpuru (Professional Bodies)